Alaska Youth Orchestras:

-First and foremost, encourages all students to participates in their school orchestra and/or band 
-Is a registered 501(c)(3)
-Is not a part of the Anchorage School District therefore receives no Federal Funds 

About Us

​Tevya Robbins
Alaska Youth Philharmonic Conductor

Mr. Tevya Robbins received two Bachelor of Arts Degrees in Music Education and Political Science from Humboldt State University. He has earned a M.M. in Instrumental Conducting from Portland State University. He has had opportunities to conduct the Beaverton Community Band and the Portland State University Wind Ensemble. Mr. Robbins is currently the Band Director at East Anchorage High School. He has a love of music and a love of being involved in the education of young people. ​

​Over 50 Years of Inspiring Music!​​

The mission of the Alaska Youth Orchestras (AYO) is to build musicianship, inspire our youth to love music, offer enriching opportunities for music performance, and create a musical legacy that will sustain arts throughout the lives of our members and our communities. 

Linn Weeda
Music Director/Alaska Youth Symphony Conductor

Born and raised in Alaska, Linn Weeda received his Master’s degree at Boston University. While at B.U., he studied trumpet with Armando Ghitalla and Roger Voisin, won the concerto competition and was student of the year. Further studies after his Master’s were with Julio Tancredi in trumpet, Larry Scripp in solfege, Charles Bruck in conducting at the Pierre Monteux School for Advanced Conductors, and with Gunther Schuller in conducting at the Schweitzer Institute. He has also studied with the principal trumpeters of the Atlanta, London, Los Angeles, and Rotterdam Orchestras.

Weeda’s professional career has been quite varied. As a freelancer in Boston for many years, he was a member of a variety of orchestras on the East Coast and has been heard nationally on National Public Radio performing with the Smithsonian Chamber players on baroque trumpet. In addition, Linn has given recitals and performed concerts in a variety of venues in New England, Mississippi, and Alaska. He has performed as a soloist with the Arctic Chamber Orchestra on tour in Alaska and China, and with the Anchorage Festival of Music. Other performances include appearances with the Suwon Philharmonic in Korea, the UAA Wind Ensemble and recitals in New York.

As a conductor, Linn has led orchestras on tour to a variety of locations in the Unted States as well as Australia, New Zealand, and Germany. He has been music director of the Fairbanks Youth Symphony and the Tupelo (Mississippi) Community Orchestra (which he founded). He was active in New England as a conductor of a variety of ensembles, and was staff conductor of the Greater Boston Youth Symphony. He has guest conducted a variety of orchestras, including the Fairbanks (Alaska) and Anchorage Symphonies. His work as a conductor in the theater includes performances of the Lloyd-Webber musicals "Jesus Christ Superstar" and "Evita." He's conducted the Anchorage Symphony Orchestra in the Annual Halloween concert and Young People’s Concerts and has worked with the Anchorage Festival of Music.

AYO envisions a community where music education and performance are valued and shared.  

AYO develops its programs around four core values:

AYO inspires young musicians as individuals and as a group to strive for and experience musical excellence.

AYO inspires young musicians and audiences through superior musical performances.

AYO inspires young musicians to lifelong participation in and support of the arts in Alaska and beyond.

Through its teaching, musical performance and leadership among youth arts groups, AYS fosters lifelong appreciation among its members for the rewards of responsibility, commitment, self-confidence, discipline and teamwork. 

Music Director:
Linn Weeda

Anchorage Youth Symphony Conductor:

Linn Weeda

Anchorage Youth Philharmonic Conductor:

Tevya Robbins

Rebecca See

Rehearsal Coordinator

Zach Akins

Executive Director:
Darla Brooks 

Board of Directors:
President: Tanguy Libbrecht
Vice President: Sandi Lowther
Treasurer: Kim Morris
Secretary: Kristi Brown

Tina Barella

Katerina Soloview

Caroline Renner

​Ulyana Stiassny

​Jay Van Alstine

​June Ruda

​Emeritus: Bob Amos